They could have at least bought me a cup of coffee!

Quick folo to the previous post about thin blue line flag decals on our local city police cars. I recognize the symbol originally was meant to show support for police officers and their families as they take on a dangerous and generally thankless job of protecting all of us. But I do believe the January 6 crowd besmirched the symbol by waving it as they attacked Capitol Police and attempted to overthrow democracy. I concluded my last post by suggesting my city cover up the TBL decals now on patrol cars with an American flag decal…a symbol I think most of us accept as a symbol of democracy and freedom. (I know, we are far from perfect, but we’re working on it, aren’t we?) So, having expressed myself in a letter published in our local paper, I just received a plain brown envelope with my address printed on the front, no return address, and postmarked in NYC (I do not live in NYC). Inside, taped inside a piece of paper (with nothing written on it) was a brand new Thin Blue Line flag decal. It’s actually a very nicely made decal, not sure what I can do with it. I’m sorry the gifter didn’t feel free to identify him/herself. I would have been happy if the sender had stood behind their act and maybe offered to share thoughts and feelings about symbols and the power they have over people’s attitudes. And not to sound unappreciative, but I’d rather they sent me a gift card for some Dunkin Donuts coffee. Especially if the decal was meant to somehow express disagreement with my comments in the paper, some coffee and conversation would have taken us farther toward an enhanced sense of community than the anonymous gift of a now controversial symbol. And so it goes…

Pace.

2 comments

  1. Judy · February 13, 2023

    It’s interesting what triggers folks these days and the tendency to react with aggression. It seems this person felt compelled to force his or her view of the thin blue line on you, and that your perspective on that symbol really made the sender unhappy. Your response was good. Any time we can calmly encourage dialogue, it’s good.

    Like

  2. Mark Kelley · February 13, 2023

    Well said, Judy, as always. I will admit I walk around in our very conservative community with a slight unease not knowing when something I say, or write will trigger them. I’m contemplating actually approaching some of the more prominent ones and trying to talk with them, to see if my mild apprehension is justified. Thanks for the response. Be well. MK

    Like

Leave a comment