It’s come to this…

For several years now, as I tottered toward my dotage, my family has been encouraging me to start a blog. So, here it is. I resisted the idea for a long time because I thought I could continue to make a contribution professionally, either as a journalist or as a teacher of journalism for some time to come. But having voluntarily surrendered my day job as an educator (for reasons my friend Scott Traylor described the other night as “principled”), been given the bum’s rush from a part-time gig in progressive talk radio that I was really psyched about (maybe more about the boneheads involved in that later), and having recently received word that my dream of teaching for UMaine here in Belfast was unlikely to come to fruition any time soon, I am left with this. Here are the ground rules I’ve set for myself:

1. In the spirit so courageously demonstrated by my friend Lois Schertz when she turned 80, I will address any topic I find worthy in whatever language I choose.

2. I will research and investigate topics I find relevant or simply curious and report my findings here.

3. Responses are welcome, as are requests for digging on topics others (probably the younger crowd still dedicating the best energies of their day to an employer) suggest. Simple reactions to the thoughts and information reported here are encouraged, no matter how pleasant or vitriolic.

4. I intend to be logical, rational, objective, and fair (as I’ve tried to be in more than 25 years as a journalist), but I reserve the right to identify injustice, bigotry, and just plain bullshit whenever I see or hear it.

5. For the benefit of those behind me, chronologically speaking, I will try to fill in some of the information on what happens and how the world looks after 65. As the best people I know have confessed more than once, it’s tough negotiating this thing called life when we weren’t born with a manual.

I welcome the participation of any and all thoughtful human beings.

 

4 comments

  1. Tom Kelley · November 5, 2014

    You know…the line between “professional journalist” and “blogger” has become quite thin these days – I don’t see why you can’t contribute just as seriously from this format, so I’m really happy you’re on here! Keep posting. I’ll be reading.

    Like

    • kelleymark2 · November 5, 2014

      Thanks, Tom. I need to shift on the spectrum to totally appreciate what you say, but I’m working on it. Best, Dad

      Like

  2. Christy R-M · November 6, 2014

    I’m with Tom on this Mark. There are many bloggers who are professionals – meaning they get paid for their blogging. The keys on this relate to being regular in writing, relevant in your topics, and work to gather an audience. This might not be of interest in your dotage (on which I call bullshit!), but there you have it.

    I look forward to hearing your voice once again; albeit via text.

    Like

    • kelleymark2 · November 6, 2014

      Thanks, Christy, for the encouragement. I welcome your thoughts anytime. Best, MK

      Like

Leave a Reply

